Hi all, I am running into a small yet difficult situation with packaging Cygwin.

The requirement for the package is that Cygwin must be distributed with all the compilers, software, etc... available to download.

The silent install function merely installs the basic sh, nothing else is tagged along, correct that...a very limited amount of programs were tagged along. But I would like to include atleast a set of compilers, a few more shells, nano, vim, etc....

I have AdminStudio, but the repackaging isn't going so well.... any suggestions?
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
I have not touched this in a while, but last i remember you had to edit the setup.ini file to "trick" the setup.exe into thinking that everything is part of the base then you could do an unattended install... you should be able to google that solution or look in the ibm forums...
Answered 07/21/2008 by: kiptek
Second Degree Green Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Thanks,

I'll give it a try.
Answered 07/25/2008 by: devGuy
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
have you had any success with editing the setup.ini file?

i had tried to set this up using wise capture but each time i ran into little problems.
Answered 10/10/2008 by: Terry.eagle
Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
shells, nano, vim, etc....

what kind of problems are you having repackaging?
Answered 10/10/2008 by: aogilmor
Ninth Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Hello,

i want to deploy Cygwin unattended too.
i use the switches like -q -d -l "source" -R "target path" -L...
i also changed the setup.ini (changed the "category: *" into "category: base" in every package) so every package is installing.
it's workin well, but during the quiet installation (-q) the user can click "cancel".. i was not able to finde anything to deactivate this button.
/verysilent and so on do not work.

another point is:
if the user clicks "cancel" and aborts the installation, the "deploymentserver" doesnt notice that. it seems like "installed" :(

i hope someone can help me!
Answered 11/11/2011 by: Mr.CE
Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity