I have been asked to remove the Workstation:: Setup category, create the category Computer::Setup and move all tickets to the new category Computer::Setup.

There are a lot of new and closed tickets in the old category so if I do this will all of the closed tickets reopen and will all the submitters and owners get emails of the change? What would happen if I just deleted the name of the old category from the setup page?

0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments


Please log in to comment



Personally, this is how I would approach this:

1) Choose/create a ticket you can use for testing.  Set yourself as the owner & submitter so you will see all email flow regarding it.

2) Assign it a non-used (or just-for-testing new) category.

3) Rename the category and see if any emails are generated with the change, and verify that the test ticket reflects the category name change.

If that doesn't work, then the next thing to try would be a custom ticket rule where the select query will find all tickets with the old category and the update query will change them to the new category.  After running the ticket rule (which should be thoroughly tested against a test ticket!!!), delete the old category.  Again, testing will let you determine what you can expect to see in regards to emails.


Answered 07/16/2012 by: jverbosk
Red Belt

  • In testing, the tickets reopened when we changed their category. We just closed the ones in the old category and started putting new tickets in the new correct category.Thank you for the help.
Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity