[font="Times New Roman"]I created a Lotus EasySync package and have deployed it to about 20 users in my company. I didn't realize that my package installs a names.nsf file (this is where personal contacts info is stored in Lotus Notes) if one does not exist. Fortuanitly all of my users already have a names.nsf because they use it to contact their client everyday so it does not get overwritten with the install of the package. The probelm is that when someone uninstalls the EasySync package it also deletes the names.nsf and the users loose their contacts. [&o] Does anyone know how I can modify the uninstall on each users machine now so that it does not delete their names.nsf file? I really appreciate the help ahead of time. Thanks.
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
Forget my previous post.... here's the easiest way to fix your problem:

1) Edit the component table of the source MSI on your distribution server so that the component that installs the "names.nsf" file isn't uninstalled on uninstall ("msidbComponentAttributesPermanent"). This is what you should have done originally.

2) Send the following job/command to all affected workstations:

Msiexec /i <Path2YourNewlyModifiedMsi> REINSTALL=ALL REINSTALLMODE=vomus /qb

Btw, where are you installing the "names-nsf" to? Is it a user-specific location?
Answered 09/29/2005 by: WiseUser
Fourth Degree Brown Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Thank you WiseUser!

Yes, names.nsf is in a user specific location. Lotus recommends that it be in the users application data data directory. Does that create a probelm with this fix for me?

Also, does the fix you recommened actually overwrite any files or reg entries since it is a reinstall?

Thanks again![:)]
Answered 10/03/2005 by: napper
Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0

Also, does the fix you recommened actually overwrite any files or reg entries since it is a reinstall?

Thanks again![:)]

The vomus part of the command line dictates what is reinstalled and can be ammended to only reinstall what is absolutely necessary. v recaches the local copy of the msi so i'd say you need this for sure since the source msi is being modified, o reinstalls files but only if the files on the target machine are older, m and u are machine and user reg keys respectively and s is shortcuts.

Alan
Answered 10/04/2005 by: ab2cv
Orange Senior Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity