I'm preparing MST file with custom settings. I have problem with "Browser Integration". I'm disabling it in Property Table. Unfortunately when user checked/unchecked this option in menu, widows installer starts.
Is any possibility to disable this effect? When user haven't permissions appears warning: "Acces dienied".
Thanx in advice
JKWM
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
regmon and filemon are your friends. download here. Find out which file or registry key is getting access denied and set the permissions in your MSI, or with your favorite utility.
Answered 01/24/2005 by: aogilmor
Ninth Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
0
the main problem is: how disable windows installer window, wich starts self repair action after checking/unchecking Browser integration" in properies menu in Adobe Reader..
I know wich files are resposible for pdf browser integration.
JKMW
Answered 01/24/2005 by: JKMW
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
not sure why you'd want to stop self repair, but you don't want the error msg. May be perms issue. does it happen with admin user as well?

check the packages database on this site and google. It's probably been covered.
Answered 01/24/2005 by: aogilmor
Ninth Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Maybe my letter was little bit chaotic;-) :
1. I need silent disabling/enabling browser integration with Reader.
2. I made it using property table in MST.
3. But when user change this settings in Reader starts Installer window.
4. How dissable this window?
JKWM
Answered 01/24/2005 by: JKMW
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
You may have to look outside of Windows Installer for this task, like toggling the reg entry with a cmd, GPO or something (Browser integration is just a reg entry, whether HKCU or HKLM I don't recall) . If you key the feature from an Installer Property, Windows Installer will try to do something when you add/remove/activate the feature. To my knowledge there is no way around this.
Answered 01/24/2005 by: aogilmor
Ninth Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity