When staff are removed from IT and need to be removed from the Owners drop down menu, is there a way to accomplish that without changing closed tickets from owner = "your name here" to "unassigned"?

We have a large number of people that no longer work for I.T. so are no longer needed to be ticket owners. But it seems that if you remove them then all of their tickets get changed to "unassigned". I'm not sure but wouldn't this prevent reports being run on how many tickets that particular owner did in the past?

This same question applies to normal AD users and PC's. When they are removed from the system, old tickets change that field to "unassigned"

Maybe it could be changed where if a owner or PC or what ever was removed it could add a comment that "owner1" was removed from the system. Then we could look for that as a report? Same for PC's or Submitters.

Does that make sense?

Mike
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
If you remove a user's ability to be an owner, then all tickets they own are re-assigned to "unassigned". The same will happen if you delete an asset or machine that a ticket is linked to - the asset or machine will be changed to "unassigned".

I agree that it would be useful to keep historical data, but you'll have to put in an enhancement request to support. This capability does not exist in the KBOX yet.
Answered 05/26/2010 by: airwolf
Tenth Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
0
I was afraid of that. I looked everywhere for a work around but Everything I did on the test que failed to give the results I was oping for. I'll put in a feature request. Is there a way to do that through these forums or is it still email/call?

Mike
Answered 05/26/2010 by: m1k3
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Email/call.

You still do have the ability to report on the historical data, just not in the same way. I forgot to mention this earlier, but whenever a user/machine/asset is auto-changed to "unassigned", the change is listed in the comments. So, for reporting purposes, you can filter based on the owner's name appearing in the comments.
Answered 05/26/2010 by: airwolf
Tenth Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Well, that's what I thought but it doesn't seem to be the case. I tried two test tickets. And both, when the owner was removed from the owner's list, no comment was added. It was just changed to "unassigned".

If you manually change from one owner to another, yes it records the change. If you manually change from owner to unassigned, it changes but when the Kbox changes the owner to unassigned, nothing gets added to the ticket.
Answered 05/26/2010 by: m1k3
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
This sounds like a bug. Anytime the system makes a change to a ticket (i.e. setting something to "unassigned" because the asset/user being linked to no longer exists), the change should be logged in the ticket.

Have you submitted a ticket to KACE about this?
Answered 05/28/2010 by: airwolf
Tenth Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
0
There is an enhancement request about this, but it certainly is not cut-and-dry situation.

I would suggest not deleting the user but simply restricting their ability to login. Historical reports will still work.

Alternatively you could have a custom field where you track the owners name either to specifically allow you to delete owners OR to replace the functionality of the owner field. If you do that then you will have to modify any things that relies on the existing owner field (ie reports, email events, rules, etc).
Answered 05/31/2010 by: GillySpy
Seventh Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity